6. Making sense is overrated

May 16, 2022 05:56

Mood: Strange

Listening to: Some new ambient music, finally!

You ever notice that people have so many ideas about the way things ought to be? This thing has to be this way and that thing has to be that way. Maybe we should do this in that way and that in this way. Just to make things interesting for once.

I like the idea of existing as a phantom. Forever in the darkness. And some would say it confines me, but it doesn't. It's my blood, and the sun is what sucks it away. Light isn't always good. You should try doing things without it for a change.

I like waking up at night and falling asleep before the day comes. I like the quiet and the loneliness.

Tonight I have been reading Emily the Strange comics. I read Bored a couple of weeks ago, but tonight I read Lost and I read Dark. I really love Dark. And I'm reading Rock now. I love the Scarytale theater sections.

Okay, first of all. What's Emily the Strange? Emily the Strange is a character, and a media franchise. She's got comics and novels and a video game. When I modded my 3DS, I was searching for DS games to play on it. I found one called Strangerous, which is her video game. Through that, I found the other things. It's dark and goth and alternative and she's got cute black cats.

I love this so much that I just used some money I didn't earn to purchase the first novel. I think I'm going to love it. This is the art that I've been waiting for. I can't remember the last time I've been interested in reading a book.

I read reviews for the comics that say they don't get it, there's no story, nothing makes sense. Making sense is overrated. If something's got your vibe, if it artistically resonates with you, it doesn't have to make sense. You don't have to make sense. Nothing does. You just have to like it. You just have to think it's cool, and it is.

And some people say they may have liked it as a young teen, but now they are an adult and so they don't. If that's how you define being an adult, I don't want to be one. I prefer being immature and interesting rather than mature and boring. I'm not in a goth phase, unless you call my life a goth phase.

So to the people who would call me juvenile and I should be more into mature things as a grown-up: I don't wanna grow up, I wanna grow down! Maybe I'll do my adulting in a childish way. You can't stop me. Fuck you.

Back