31. Yearning for nightmarish times

November 2, 2023 01:56

Mood: Surreal

Listening to: Nektyr by Demen

Wow I've already done fucking thirty of these huh. Don't remember the number being that large.

I am always in the mood to be in a strange dark fantasy world, but right now I am especially in the mood for that. Found myself listening to Pram again, and now I've begun to listen to their material that I hadn't listened to before, or only listened to once or twice. I forgot how much I fucking love Pram. Their music is so eerie and different.

Let's seee when was last update. Oh, like two months ago. Whoops. Well, let's see. What was I listening to at the time? Ah, I was just getting into Lebanon Hanover and about to listen to Forever Grey's early work as well. That's some really great shit. Also started watching a bunch of horror films. Film is still definitely not my medium, but after watching Terrifier, I gave a chance to old classic slashers. Also definitely not my thing.

So, I think my September was quite spooky. As for October, big highlights were going on date with girlfriend to Spirit Halloween, and another date to a cemetery. It was so peaceful and somber there. Really enjoyed it. Also did Inktober. Didn't enjoy that as much. Right now, I think I prefer to draw whatever the fuck I feel like, rather than forcing myself to draw with a constraint.

For Halloween, I did what I did last year as well, and listened to hours of goth music all dressed and made up. But this time, I was less baby of a bat, so I had way more shit I loved to put on, and I danced way, way harder. My legs and shoulders and neck and everything else are still sore and most likely will be for a little while longer. I've never danced that hard in my life. Am probably quite fortunate that I somehow didn't slam any part of my body into any object in the room. I lost myself and was straight up flailing around in some moments. Was great.

Interests in Pokémon and A Series of Unfortunate Events were rekindled. Re-evaluated my favorite Pokémon based on my new tastes, and I discovered that I have a huge thing for ghost types. Decided to play and finally beat Pokémon Moon, and I DID!!! Finally beat a gen 7 game. My team was: Mismagius, Toxapex, Palossand, Shiinotic, Dhelmise, and I WANTED to get a Sensu-style Oricorio but the game literally locks it behind a post-game door. But oh well, I beat it anyway without my spooky bird. Still no interest in playing gen 9 though, because I overall don't like the designs from it, and many of them I find actively ugly.

As for A Series of Unfortunate Events, I decided to reread it. However, not all the way through, because that's 13 books, and I was afraid I wouldn't get through the whole thing, just as I wasn't able to so many times during my childhood. I also remember the earlier ones quite well from rereading them so much, so I decided to start at book 8. Am currently a few chapters into the final book, and I shall complete that as well.

I get the feeling that quite a bit of my outlook and worldview was formed from this read as a child. The series is nearly always focused on sadness, tragedy, and a dark, grim atmosphere. The main characters are who we root for and are portrayed as intelligent compared to most others around them, and a whole lot of it comes down to their ability to critically think and analyze. They always think things through very logically, and I find it to be similar to the way I think, which makes it satisfying to read. A major theme is the idea that adults are not necessarily smarter or more dependable than children. Instead of age, what matters, according to the series, is how many books one has read. Growing up, it's something that I have found out myself: adults are nowhere near as smart as they think they are. Also learned that the series was directly inspired by Gothic literature, which, hey!! :DDD me! Probably had something to do with how I am now, being so fascinated with the gothic, mysterious, obscure, and the melancholy.

Feeling like getting into more music soon. Want some more weird, dark, deranged shit to listen to. Thanks for reading~ Get lost.

Back