11. Uhh. Goth, comic books.

July 22, 2022 19:54

Mood: I don't even know. Feeling dead but also confident as hell

Listening to: Under Your Spell CD

Hey humans. And other sentient creatures, if you are one. Haven't updated this in a few weeks. Thought this would be a good time to do it.

So I know you're DYING from the apprehension. What have we been doing for all this time??? Well, loyal fans, and me reading this in the future for reference, mostly we have been reading gothic comic books! We found out about a comic book called Nightmares & Fairy Tales (2002) by Serena Valentino, and tried to find it online (yes, online. Sue me. We don't have money to buy them in the first place. It's either read online or don't read at all). And we couldn't find it online! So couldn't read it.

So instead of reading that, we tried looking for some similar ones. And we succeeded.

We read one issue of Gloomcookie (1998), created by Serena Valentino and Ted Naifeh. Liked the art in this one, but didn't like the story much. Might read more of it in the future.

Then we moved onto a series called Courtney Crumrin (2002), created by Ted Naifeh. This story is about a little girl who moves into a new town with her (or is it her parents'?) great uncle, and becomes a witch. She's super grumpy, sullen, and gloomy, so we like her. Read the first three volumes of that, mostly good stuff, but not great to me.

Most recently, we read volume one of a comic called Serenity Rose (think 2002? Man, 2002 was a great year...). Serenity Rose was created by Aaron Alexovich, who was apparently the original character designer for Invader ZIM! (Or one of them? Don't quote me.) You can see it in the art. Just finished the first volume actually.

This comic is soooo good oh my gosh. This volume is five issues that total up to about one hundred fifty pages. Any flaw we could pick out would be a nitpick. We don't like it as much as the Emily the Strange comics, but as of right now, it's second only to those. You can actually find these comics on the creator's website for free! Go read them!

It's so like. Idk. Real. I see myself reflected in Sera, a lot. She's really cute. And, her struggles are so real. It's not the type of thing we see talked about a lot. The stuff about stagnation and not really knowing what to do and everything being confusing affected me a lot.

So, am feeling, like. Good about myself, but bad about life. There's nothing wrong with doing something I like, or making something that makes me happy, even if it's shit. Maybe it's even a good thing that it's shit. At least it's me. At least I'm doing what I want instead of doing something others want. So, I wrote a story, and put it up on this site. And I'm continuing to write poetry. And I'm drawing! I've been actually enjoying drawing. I want to make stupid little characters and stupid little comics for them to be in. It's fun.

Yeah, I still don't have a job. But at least I'm being myself, you know... that's got to count for something. I like expressing my dumb, goth self. Myself that doesn't know much about the world because we're still really young, myself that is lazy and unmotivated... myself that is goth, at least to myself. Am me, and that's cool, and my dumb little things are me, too, and they're cool too. Yeah. Good stuff.

Will write more later. Thoughts are all unorganized. Have a nice night, hope you find solace in your darkness and all.

Back